Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
wheels
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 160
Default wireless security, MAC needs no key?

Hello, I am using a linksys wrt54gl router with tomato. Is it possible to set up WPA2 security and set where a certain MAC address can connect to the router without using a key or password?
wheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
amanoai
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 120
Default

What about when that MAC address is spoofed?
amanoai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
gsaldivar
Diamond Member
 
gsaldivar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,628
Default

MAC addresses are trivially easy to sniff and spoof, which is why this isn't implemented as a method of authentication.
__________________
150,000 people are imprisoned in North Korea's brutal prison camps. From birth to death, entire generations are kept in absolute misery behind an electric fence. Please take a few minutes of your day to hear their story, and use your own voice to speak out for those who don't have one.
gsaldivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 08:20 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,050
Default

It can be done on a Wireless Router that can be configure with few SSID (or Dual channel).

The WRT54GL is too old and simple for such configuration.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:21 AM   #5
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wheels View Post
Hello, I am using a linksys wrt54gl router with tomato. Is it possible to set up WPA2 security and set where a certain MAC address can connect to the router without using a key or password?
I don't believe you can have it that way. You either have a MAC whitelist or you don't and you either have WPA2 enabled or you don't. I don't think there's any pre-built software that will accept a connection from a known MAC and prompt for a WPA2 key if the MAC isn't on a list.

But as has been said, MAC whitelists provide a very small amount of security and shouldn't be relied upon by themselves. It's like having a door guy that just has a list of names on it without actually knowing the people. If I know a name on the list and I give tell him I'm one of them he'll let me in regardless of whether that's my real name or not.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 12:51 PM   #6
ImDonly1
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothinman View Post
I don't believe you can have it that way. You either have a MAC whitelist or you don't and you either have WPA2 enabled or you don't. I don't think there's any pre-built software that will accept a connection from a known MAC and prompt for a WPA2 key if the MAC isn't on a list.

But as has been said, MAC whitelists provide a very small amount of security and shouldn't be relied upon by themselves. It's like having a door guy that just has a list of names on it without actually knowing the people. If I know a name on the list and I give tell him I'm one of them he'll let me in regardless of whether that's my real name or not.
You can enable both MAC filtering and WPA2. Once the WPA2 key is saved, you don't need to type it in anymore anyway.

Also like everyone else said MAC filtering is useless. You can sniff and spoof the address in 2 minutes. Stick to WPA2 only.
ImDonly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:18 PM   #7
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImDonly1 View Post
You can enable both MAC filtering and WPA2. Once the WPA2 key is saved, you don't need to type it in anymore anyway.
I know but that doesn't do what the OP said they wanted...
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.