Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2012, 03:20 AM   #1
yugo23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default Is it possible to run HTPC without HDD/SDD/MC?

I thought I read somewhere that you can store HTPC OS on a network HDD? Is this possible?
yugo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:43 AM   #2
rabbitz
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 93
Default

I'm just guessing, but wouldn't you need some kind of storage to hold the info for initializing the network interfaces, at the very least?
rabbitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:18 PM   #3
PCTC2
Diamond Member
 
PCTC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,862
Default

You can if you have a NetBoot server set up. This requires control over your DHCP server (like if you use a full gateway server or you use DD-WRT or Tomato on your router) to set up where to find a PXEboot environment (easy to set up using dnsmasq), and then a server actually serving proper images over the network.

This is an example for a CentOS install handling both DHCP and PXE (using tftp and NFS): http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/DisklessClients
EDIT: And also Debian: http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/478

For dnsmasq, the config line is: ('itchy'/192.168.1.50 is the tftp server)
Code:
dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,itchy,192.168.1.50
So then you set up the HTPC in the BIOS to boot using the PXE environment, it will go initiate the network, look for the DHCP server which points it to the TFTP server and it netboots the image. The NFS is used for actual storage of media and user account files (any dynamic files).
__________________
-E3200,DG45FC,4GB,SSD - Q6600,GT240,eVGA 680i SLI,4GB - Q9400,8800GTS G92,EP45-UD3P,4GB
-Ci7 920,U2711,GT240,X58 FTW3,12GB,SSD - Ci7 860,HD5670,eVGA P55M,8GB,SSD
-17" MBP Ci5 - Mac Mini Server C2D - Mac Mini Server Ci7
-2x Xeon E5520,SM X8DTH-6F,24GB,ESXi5 - Xeon E3-1220,8TB RAID5,SM X9SCM-F,8GB,SSD -E3300,G43ITX,4GB,7.5TB RAID-Z+SSD
HEATWARE

Last edited by PCTC2; 04-17-2012 at 02:24 PM.
PCTC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:20 PM   #4
billyb0b
Golden Member
 
billyb0b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yugo23 View Post
I thought I read somewhere that you can store HTPC OS on a network HDD? Is this possible?

You can boot almost any modern computer over a network really.
billyb0b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:19 AM   #5
yugo23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the replies. I guess it will take a lot of learning before I am able to perform these installs, but I'll give it a try.
yugo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:02 AM   #6
Chapbass
Platinum Member
 
Chapbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,719
Default

Its comparatively low-tech compared to network booting, but XBMC has a live-cd option, similar to linux distros.

edit: how about a flash drive? that an option?
__________________
Heatware

Last edited by Chapbass; 04-18-2012 at 10:02 AM. Reason: hm
Chapbass is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 11:42 AM   #7
pauldun170
Platinum Member
 
pauldun170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,131
Default

PCTC2 solution should do it. Used to do something along those lines years ago with Windows CE on thin clients.

I'd rather XBMC Live off of a flash drive.
pauldun170 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.