Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2012, 12:30 AM   #1
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default PC boots once, then refuses to boot until CMOS reset?

Hi there, I just built a new pc with athlon quad core cpu and 2 x 4GB sticks of ram. The only other thing plugged in at present is the HDD.

After putting it all together I installed windows etc and everything works fine. However, once I shut down and tried to restart later, everything comes on but it doesnt boot. I get no beeps.

It starts up and runs perfectly fine if I start it up the next day after screwing around with it(fair amount of time elapsed), or if I discharge the CMOS and it starts up in default state.

It will also work fine if i choose 'restart' once in windows so it never actually turns off.

But - if i shut down and turn it off, then turn it on again, everything starts up - fans, lights etc etc but no signal goes to the monitor.

I'm using onboard gfx and this is the first time i've ever come across something like this.

Tried a bigger PS in the hopes that the new CPU needed more juice - no go.

Changed CMOS battery - 2 changes so far so 3 batteries total counting the original

Unplugged everything except HDD and one stick of ram - it started up coz i went from 8Gb of ram to 4GB ie change in BIOS but then shut down and turned on and back to the same thing.

Any thoughts?. The only other remote possibility I can think of is theres a short somewhere?. But why only on the second start vs the initial start?.

Any help appreciated!.

Last edited by vamos; 04-13-2012 at 03:35 PM. Reason: more accurate description
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:47 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,634
Default

Give more info.OS-MOBO-VIDEO-PSU-HDD-and ram brand and type
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 03:12 AM   #3
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

Hope this helps!

OS - Win 7 Ultimate
Mb - MSI 890GXM-G65
Video - onboard
PSU - generic Bestec 300W
HDD - Seagate 1TB
Ram - G.Skill Ripjaws 2 x 4GB - DDR3-1333 PC3-10666 1.5V CL9-9-9-24
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:37 AM   #4
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

The latest BIOS Release is V1.13 (7642v1D.zip).

Check yours, as this BIOS update addresses memory compatiblity.

Are you using the VGA or DVI-D port?

Have you installed "Control Center" and used it to modify mobo settings?

Looking through the Users manual I noticed this about Control Center:

Quote:
Important Note: Every time you turn-off the system, the settings will be restored to the factory default. If you want to use the saved settings, you have to load it every time by clicking the "Load" button.
I'd look at that very closely.

Last edited by Bubbaleone; 04-14-2012 at 04:42 AM.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 06:52 PM   #5
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for the advice. I flashed the latest BIOS on. Still the same issue.

using VGA port on an old CRT monitor. the monitor itself is fine.

Using stock Win 7. No installation of this Control Center thingie and no overclocking options in the BIOS.

plain vanilla.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:33 PM   #6
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

Since it's a "vanilla" hardware and OS build, I'd suggest taking the mobo and power supply out of the case. Set it up on a non-conductive surface (corrugated cardboard works), connect the PSU, HDD, monitor, mouse, and keyboard then test it like that to see if the problem still occurs.

If it behaves normally, check that the mobo mounting screws and/or standoffs are in the right locations, I/O shield is mounted correctly, and nothing conductive on the mobo is grounding anywhere when you reinstall it in the case.

Last edited by Bubbaleone; 04-14-2012 at 08:03 PM.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 07:51 PM   #7
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

One other thing; it's confusing that first you state: "everything comes on but it doesnt boot. I get no beeps", and then further on you state: "But - if i shut down and turn it off, then turn it on again, everything starts up - fans, lights etc etc but no signal goes to the monitor". Please clarify the actual situation.

If it's the monitor not turning on, that "old CRT monitor" might be the culprit. A system can boot just fine without a monitor even being connected.

Last edited by Bubbaleone; 04-14-2012 at 07:58 PM.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:55 PM   #8
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

I mean when I start up after discharging the CMOS, it boots up normally and goes into windows.

When I restart within windows(so that it never actually turns off), it also goes straight into windows with the usual startup beeps.

When i choose "shut down" so the pc turns off, then hit the power button to start up, the light on the mb comes on, the cpu and PS fans turn on etc, but no beeps and no signal to monitor and no boot to windows.

discharge CMOS = works fine again.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:10 PM   #9
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,634
Default

Ok so you have to fix the time and date all the time.if yes that mobo is defective
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:18 PM   #10
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

I do have to set the time and date but only after resetting the CMOS. It doesnt reset by itself.

The thing I cant figure out is why does it boot up after resetting CMOS and works just fine, but once shut off and turned back on, refuses to boot.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:27 PM   #11
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,634
Default

when you reset cmos. it go in to default.so my opinion is the mobo.or you could try a chkdsk for disk errors.but i doubt it
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #12
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vamos View Post
I mean when I start up after discharging the CMOS, it boots up normally and goes into windows.

When I restart within windows(so that it never actually turns off), it also goes straight into windows with the usual startup beeps.

When i choose "shut down" so the pc turns off, then hit the power button to start up, the light on the mb comes on, the cpu and PS fans turn on etc, but no beeps and no signal to monitor and no boot to windows.

discharge CMOS = works fine again.
The only time you'll here a beep code is if there's hardware problem with the mobo. You're not going to hear a beep code if the monitor is defective.

What I mean is it sounds like the system is booting just fine, but the monitor isn't turning on. Unless you've already hooked up a different monitor,and tested with it, how do you know there is "....no signal to monitor and no boot to windows."?
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #13
Matt1970
Lifer
 
Matt1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Syracuse NY
Posts: 10,495
Default

Try running it without a hard drive. Also get it into Windows and run CPUz on it and see if all the voltages are correct on the board.
Matt1970 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:11 AM   #14
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

I meant the POST beep. When I start it that second time, theres no POST beep.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:15 AM   #15
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

I've also used the monitor with another pc and it works just fine. no changes in cabling or anything.

it also works fine on the above build for that first startup. once i turn it off and turn it back on again, then no signal to monitor and no POST beep.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:45 AM   #16
dbcooper1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 464
Default

Are you changing any other BIOS settings from default when you change the time & date? Also might try different RAM to see how it behaves.
dbcooper1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:10 PM   #17
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,649
Default

If you've actually followed the suggestions that AT members have offered you here, and you're still in the exact same spot, then perhaps you should consider contacting your reseller and getting an RMA for the MSI mobo.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:40 AM   #18
C1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,577
Default

You need to start trying some things:

- What happens on the second start if you try to immediately enter the BIOS (instead of attempting to complete POST)? That is, do you get video?

- On the second start (and there is no monitor), what happens when you disconnect then immediately reconnect the video cable?

- What happens if you use a different monitor?

- Inspect your BIOS very carefully (including power management area) to see what controls there are involving video. Try changing some settings. You may end up going with a PCI-E video card.

- After the first boot (and you have windows), inspect carefully the video settings in windows for the onboard graphics. If there are capabilities for power management then try changing some settings.

- Usually MB's come with a CD for the OS dependent drivers for the onboard chips (including graphics). Ensure that the MB onboard GPU driver has been properly installed. Verify the correct GPU installation in device manager. Sometime order of installation of drivers can be an issue (eg, windows may have substituted some generic driver for the correct driver that comes with the MB and on shutdown after the first boot sets something in the BIOS or power management that affects the video).
C1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:57 PM   #19
vamos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for all the help guys.

It turns out of all things it was the ram voltage and/or timings. Never even occurred to me to look at coz I figured if it booted the first time, all hunky dory right?.

wrong.

Anyway, something to add to the knowledge base if anyone else has this issue in future.
vamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.