Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Forum Issues > Technical Forum Issues

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #1
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,140
Default Can't connect to forums on laptop or desktop *Working now*

I'm typing this on my phone which is able to connect via 3g, but my work laptop, home laptop, and home desktop all time out when trying to connect to the forums. I even tried on two networks ( work and home).

I tried deleting cookies, flushing dns, ipconfig release/renew. Still nothing. Is there something else i can do on my end?

I should mention that I was able to connect ok earlier today.

Thanks for any suggestions.

EDIT: Site working now for everyone as of yesterday evening sometime.

Last edited by Schfifty Five; 04-12-2012 at 01:15 PM.
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:23 PM   #2
Anubis
No Lifer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anger is a gift!
Posts: 74,542
Default

Yea its not just you. Happening here also. Typing this on phone
Anubis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:33 PM   #3
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Yea its not just you. Happening here also. Typing this on phone
Cool good to know it isnt just me.
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:03 PM   #4
FoBoT
Super Moderator
 
FoBoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Holden MO
Posts: 63,091
Default

is it just forums.anandtech.com
or same problem with anandtech.com ?
__________________
“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.”
― Dr. Seuss
FoBoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:11 PM   #5
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,537
Default

Just forums for me

4g here
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:30 PM   #6
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,275
Default

We're obviously back up right now. I'll dig around and see if I can get any details.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:30 PM   #7
coldmeat
Diamond Member
 
coldmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ON, CA
Posts: 9,178
Default

I couldn't connect until just now either.
__________________

coldmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:43 PM   #8
gw186
Golden Member
 
gw186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmeat View Post
I couldn't connect until just now either.
Same here. Thought is was just me. Glad to see it wasn't just me.
__________________
Neffing is illegal. (here) You are busted! - AnandTech Moderator
gw186 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #9
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 26,414
Default

Yeah, whew, I sent an email to moderator@anandtech.com , thinking somehow I was IPbanned. Good to hear that I'm not. Thank you GOD!

(Not that I have ever done anything on any forum that is IPban-worthy.)

Edit: It was kind of strange though, both of my friends that I called, that both have Comcast, could access it no problem when I couldn't. Also, downforeveryoneorjustme.com showed that the forums were UP, when I couldn't access it.

I had a problem about a couple of weeks ago, late at night, I figured it was a Verizon router flaking out, I couldn't access the forums intermittently, nor could I access Newegg. But I could access FW and microcenter.com.

Edit: I'm on FIOS, btw.

Edit: It was after a prayer that the forums re-appeared. Coincedence, or Divine intervention?
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 04-11-2012 at 09:47 PM.
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #10
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

its back online for desktop now
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 10:19 PM   #11
MotionMan
Lifer
 
MotionMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 16,965
Default

I am glad it was not just me. I could not connect from my desktop, laptop, wife's laptop or my phone.

I thought I had been banned in my sleep!

MotionMan
MotionMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:28 PM   #12
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,755
Default

I got a message that my IP was banned and to contact an admin.
__________________
It's not the odds that guide me, it's the stakes.
oldsmoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:47 PM   #13
RossMAN
Grand Nagus
 
RossMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 74,987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsmoboat View Post
I got a message that my IP was banned and to contact an admin.
I've seen that message as well but only when using a proxy server.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
Baby oil and some vinyl can be a fun night.
RossMAN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:37 AM   #14
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,140
Default

Just able to check now, but it seems to be working! Woohoo.

Dunno what the deal was.
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:17 AM   #15
oldsmoboat
Elite Member
 
oldsmoboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Kaliforniastan
Posts: 46,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossMAN View Post
I've seen that message as well but only when using a proxy server.
Wasn't using a proxy when I got it.
Obviously working now.
__________________
It's not the odds that guide me, it's the stakes.
oldsmoboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:09 AM   #16
Anubis
No Lifer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anger is a gift!
Posts: 74,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Yeah, whew, I sent an email to moderator@anandtech.com , thinking somehow I was IPbanned. Good to hear that I'm not. Thank you GOD!

(Not that I have ever done anything on any forum that is IPban-worthy.)

Edit: It was kind of strange though, both of my friends that I called, that both have Comcast, could access it no problem when I couldn't. Also, downforeveryoneorjustme.com showed that the forums were UP, when I couldn't access it.

I had a problem about a couple of weeks ago, late at night, I figured it was a Verizon router flaking out, I couldn't access the forums intermittently, nor could I access Newegg. But I could access FW and microcenter.com.

Edit: I'm on FIOS, btw.

Edit: It was after a prayer that the forums re-appeared. Coincedence, or Divine intervention?
im on time warner, few others that could not access also were on TW or brighthouse (TW), something buggered up somewhere
Anubis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:51 AM   #17
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
im on time warner, few others that could not access also were on TW or brighthouse (TW), something buggered up somewhere
My home internet is TWC (in Texas) but dunno what network my work office uses. both could not access forums.anandtech.com yesterday for those hours.
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #18
allisolm
Administrator
Elite Member
 
allisolm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 19,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
im on time warner, few others that could not access also were on TW or brighthouse (TW), something buggered up somewhere
On Comcast in FL and could not access. Diagnostics said the site was up but not responding.
allisolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:02 PM   #19
Dude111
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 855
Default

Luckily I have always been able (so far) to access this site when i want to....

Very strange some of you guys (Even allisom) are having issues??!!???

Last edited by allisolm; 04-12-2012 at 03:07 PM.
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:07 PM   #20
allisolm
Administrator
Elite Member
 
allisolm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 19,296
Default

This was just for an hour maybe last night.
allisolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:13 PM   #21
Ryan Smith
The New Boss
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 199
Default

Although we don't talk about our server setup very often, the forums are served by a pool of webservers. One of the webservers went down last night, and the load balancer did not take it out of the pool like it should have, hence the outage for some people.

-Ryan Smith
Ryan Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:54 PM   #22
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
Although we don't talk about our server setup very often, the forums are served by a pool of webservers. One of the webservers went down last night, and the load balancer did not take it out of the pool like it should have, hence the outage for some people.

-Ryan Smith
Thanks for the update!
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:25 PM   #23
RossMAN
Grand Nagus
 
RossMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 74,987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
Although we don't talk about our server setup very often, the forums are served by a pool of webservers. One of the webservers went down last night, and the load balancer did not take it out of the pool like it should have, hence the outage for some people.

-Ryan Smith
Thanks for the update and explanation, they're both greatly appreciated.

Off topic, it would be nice to hear more about the forum servers behind the scenes like here?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
Baby oil and some vinyl can be a fun night.
RossMAN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:15 PM   #24
Ryan Smith
The New Boss
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossMAN View Post
Thanks for the update and explanation, they're both greatly appreciated.

Off topic, it would be nice to hear more about the forum servers behind the scenes like here?
Funny enough we have something like that planned. Although it may be some time before it's written up due to how busy we've been lately.
Ryan Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:55 PM   #25
RossMAN
Grand Nagus
 
RossMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 74,987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
Funny enough we have something like that planned. Although it may be some time before it's written up due to how busy we've been lately.
That's great news, I look forward to reading it, whenever it's published.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemyst View Post
Baby oil and some vinyl can be a fun night.
RossMAN is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.