Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2012, 11:57 AM   #1
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,714
Default Best freeWare for taking image of OS drive

Is there anything besides Acronis for this?

I basically want to be able to hookup a USB drive, boot to a CD, and use the app to take an image of the C: drive so I can backup my computers. I'll just keep all my images on my drive so if I need to restore I can do that.

I want it to be free because I work on friends computers too and if I do a build I want to be able to make an image and give them a copy of it (along with the disc to restore it).
__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:12 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,560
Default

This is Not free, and Windows only, but considering its value ($20) nothing of the "frees" come even closer to it.

http://3btech.net/actrimho20ba1.html

Otherwise, use CloneZilla (if you have a lot of spare time).

http://clonezilla.org/


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,739
Default

Macrium Reflect does this well and they have a free version (although with fewer options than the normal version).
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:02 PM   #4
GrumpyMan
Diamond Member
 
GrumpyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 5,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
Macrium Reflect does this well and they have a free version (although with fewer options than the normal version).
Yup, used it yesterday to back up a new image at home since my WD backup drive ate it. Works great for a SSD too since it keeps the correct alignment. May go ahead and get the pay version too.
GrumpyMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:13 PM   #5
holden j caufield
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 5,403
Default

clonezilla is the best free one I've used so far. Can't comment on ssd had I haven't done the mechanical -> ssd or vice versa to find out.
__________________
Heatware rating 43-0 since 1997
holden j caufield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:37 PM   #6
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,739
Default

I ended up buying it as well. I am going to upgrade to version 5 pretty soon also.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpyMan View Post
Yup, used it yesterday to back up a new image at home since my WD backup drive ate it. Works great for a SSD too since it keeps the correct alignment. May go ahead and get the pay version too.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:42 PM   #7
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,505
Default

I agree with the recommendation of Macrium Reflect - I'm in the process of ordering a retail copy for myself now.

One definite advantage over Acronis is that it doesn't have that d@mned "Operations are in Progress" bug that Acronis has apparently been unable to fix for the last umpteen years. I tolerated it in at least the last four versions of Acronis, but never again.
Steltek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 39,054
Default

I use Clonezilla. It's both free and libre.
lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:42 PM   #9
SimMike2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
Macrium Reflect does this well and they have a free version (although with fewer options than the normal version).
I could never get a bootable CD with Macrium Reflect.
SimMike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:12 PM   #10
xSauronx
Lifer
 
xSauronx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 19,332
Default

i bought acronis a couple of years ago, you can get it cheap or damn near free with rebate a couple of times a year so i jumped on it.
__________________
LET'S GO 'CANES [they arent going anywhere. ever.]
Free speech doesn't protect speech you like, it protects speech you hate.

Heatware |
xSauronx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:19 PM   #11
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,739
Default

Try this, it worked for me no problem (in both versions 4 and 5) !

http://kb.macrium.com/KnowledgebaseArticle50025.aspx

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimMike2 View Post
I could never get a bootable CD with Macrium Reflect.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:02 PM   #12
JeffreyLebowski
Lifer
 
JeffreyLebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,507
Default

If you're using Windows 7, just use the backup tool built in.
__________________
I am the 1%. Sweet.
JeffreyLebowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:13 PM   #13
pcslookout
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,527
Default

Paragon Backup & Recovery 2012 works well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
pcslookout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:18 PM   #14
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,739
Default

Does that have the ability to restore the image to another drive with a boot disc? If so how do you to do that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyLebowski View Post
If you're using Windows 7, just use the backup tool built in.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:07 PM   #15
SimMike2
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyLebowski View Post
If you're using Windows 7, just use the backup tool built in.
Windows 7 imaging won't work if you go from a larger hard drive to a smaller SSD.
SimMike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:18 PM   #16
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,464
Default

Bootable Linux CD and dd.
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:50 PM   #17
jimmyj68
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 573
Default

Hey I've done it a couple of times with WIN7 backup and restore. Just an image but from a 500GB external hard drive to an 240GB OCZ SSD. I did find that trying to restore individual files and folders was a real bear.
__________________
John 3:16
jimmyj68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 02:22 AM   #18
stevech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Disk imaging is important.. so one may not want to use freeware.
Acronis is really inexpensive if you shop.
stevech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 04:15 AM   #19
Kathi201
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Try to go through with Macrium Reflect because i think this one is done well as per your post concern.
Thanks
Kathi201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.