Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2012, 11:26 AM   #1
EXman
Lifer
 
EXman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 20,048
Default ~~ How to hook up My Hot Deal Ultra-Budget Home theater Sub???~~

Ok this is What I have

A Yamaha Aventage RX-A700 (BB clearance with coupon and %25 off post Xmas sale $145)
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...a700_black__u/

Mains Energy CB-5 (BB clearance $75)

Rear Boston Acoustic Micr 110x (old had these sitting around)

Center Polk CSII series II (6.5" open box newegg $59)

*Velodyne VP10 $40 Craigslist special <<<----- Problem Does not have the standard 1 sub plug? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Velodyne-VRP...-/220976683913

HOW do I hook this SUB up to the receiver?

for what it is worth I have a $250 42" XVT vizio 1080p 120hz Craigslist special and a $50 Panasonic BD 110 3D Blu ray player from BB.

Pretty cheap ass hot delio basement system...
EXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:39 AM   #2
pmark
Senior Member
 
pmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 871
Default

use this: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
pmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:42 AM   #3
pmark
Senior Member
 
pmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 871
Default

oops, linked to the wrong product. Anyway, just find a 2-to-1 RCA cable.
pmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:43 AM   #4
EXman
Lifer
 
EXman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 20,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmark View Post
oops, linked to the wrong product. Anyway, just find a 2-to-1 RCA cable.
Yea i was like wtf?

And hook the standard Sub cable to it and i'm golden?
EXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:53 AM   #5
pmark
Senior Member
 
pmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EXman View Post
Yea i was like wtf?

And hook the standard Sub cable to it and i'm golden?
yup.
pmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:43 PM   #6
NutBucket
Lifer
 
NutBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West SFV
Posts: 21,978
Default

You don't need the Y-adapter necessarily. Look in the owner's manual and it will tell you which jack to use for a mono input.
NutBucket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 01:45 PM   #7
kornphlake
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,548
Default

You can hook a single cable to one RCA jack or the other, it should work just fine with only one input.
kornphlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
SithSolo1
Diamond Member
 
SithSolo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,194
Default

On the higher end models in the vrp line the LFE input is the Left rca input. I assume its the same on your model.
__________________
Ncase M1|i7-4770k|16GB ram|128GB msata+128GB ssd|Reference R9 290|ST45SF-G|U2412m
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=3992
SithSolo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:56 PM   #9
EXman
Lifer
 
EXman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 20,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutBucket View Post
You don't need the Y-adapter necessarily. Look in the owner's manual and it will tell you which jack to use for a mono input.
It has two inputs and I have 2 sub outputs sorry for the new question but should I run two sub cables to it?
EXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 02:57 PM   #10
EXman
Lifer
 
EXman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 20,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SithSolo1 View Post
On the higher end models in the vrp line the LFE input is the Left rca input. I assume its the same on your model.

It says nothing about a mono input that i can find. Shows one sub cable from the receiver to two to the sub or speaker level.


Actually I just got a Y splitter and it worked well. Pretty decent bass. thanks cool guys!

IMMORTALS next up...

Boom Boom

Last edited by EXman; 04-09-2012 at 04:34 PM.
EXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.