Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
angry hampster
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 4,238
Default 5.1 through TOSLINK from TV?

I am planning some upgrades to my home theater system. I have an older, low-end 5.1 receiver (Panasonic brand) and will probably replace it. If I do, I don't want to spend more than $200..this is obviously limiting.

To keep wiring simple since low-end AVRs don't support HDMI pass-thru, I am planning on running an HDMI cable from my Xbox 360 to the TV, and then running an optical audio cable from the TV to the AVR.

This way I don't have to have my speakers on when I want to play games/watch movies at a low volume. Will I lose any sound fidelity as it passes through the TV? TV in question is a Samsung PN51E450 plasma.
__________________
Lights, cameras, glass, empty wallet.

[i5 2500k][HD4870 512mb][8GB DDR3 1600][Other Junk]

HEAT
angry hampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
nsafreak
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 6,506
Default

You won't lose any fidelity but most TVs will not pass back all 5 channels of audio that they receive from HDMI back through optical. They will send back the full 5.1 if they have a built in ATSC tuner from it but that's it. If you want to get the full 5.1 channels from your 360 you'll have to run an optical cable form it to the AVR. Depending upon which 360 you have you may have to modify an existing HD cable so that you can have both it and the HDMI cable plugged in a the same time.
__________________
Desktop: i5 4670K, Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3, 16GB Kingston HyperX Blu Genesis, Gigabyte HD 7950 (Windforce), Samsung EVO 250GB SSD, Crucial M4 120GB SSD, Seagate 2TB HDD, Corsair CX600M, InWin GT1

Server: i5 2500K, Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, 8GB Crucial DDR3-1600, OCZ Agility 3 128GB SSD, 3x Seagate 1.5TB HDD (RAID 5 array), Seagate 1TB HDD, Corsair CX600, Antec 300
nsafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:06 PM   #3
angry hampster
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 4,238
Default

Well that's annoying. I guess I could just run a switcher.

The TV's manual says it's uncompressed through SPDIF though..check out the bottom of page 3:
http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/co...G_web_0404.pdf
__________________
Lights, cameras, glass, empty wallet.

[i5 2500k][HD4870 512mb][8GB DDR3 1600][Other Junk]

HEAT
angry hampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:26 PM   #4
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angry hampster View Post
Well that's annoying. I guess I could just run a switcher.

The TV's manual says it's uncompressed through SPDIF though..check out the bottom of page 3:
http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/co...G_web_0404.pdf
That pertains to the internal tuner only. Any other sources connected to the TV will only be output as 2.0 over S/PDIF.
Soundmanred is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:30 PM   #5
nsafreak
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 6,506
Default

I'm still not entirely certain it'll pass back the full uncompressed signal from HDMI to optical simply because optical doesn't have enough bandwidth for anything beyond Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS EX. For a 360 that really isn't an issue though since the 360 only outputs in Dolby Digital at most anyways. I suppose you could give it a shot and see what happens. The worse case scenario is that you find out only 2 channels are being passed back and you'll have to hack apart a 360 cable so that you can use it for an optical source. $200 won't get you an outstanding receiver btw but it'll get a decent receiver with HDMI.
__________________
Desktop: i5 4670K, Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3, 16GB Kingston HyperX Blu Genesis, Gigabyte HD 7950 (Windforce), Samsung EVO 250GB SSD, Crucial M4 120GB SSD, Seagate 2TB HDD, Corsair CX600M, InWin GT1

Server: i5 2500K, Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, 8GB Crucial DDR3-1600, OCZ Agility 3 128GB SSD, 3x Seagate 1.5TB HDD (RAID 5 array), Seagate 1TB HDD, Corsair CX600, Antec 300
nsafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 10:25 PM   #6
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,509
Default

Some TVs can output 5.1 sound from HDMI input, but not all.
Since AVR supports multiple optical inputs, you can connect it to multiple devices. I know setup is easier with one optical cable, but sometimes it is not possible.
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:05 AM   #7
vshah
Lifer
 
vshah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,753
Default

http://www.dakmart.com/product_info....ducts_id=11324

refurb denon 1610, supports hdmi passthrough. $219

just a couple bucks more than you'd spend on extra cables or a switcher

also, why not just turn the volume down on the AVR? that denon above has audyssey dynamic volume, which, if set to midnight mode, keeps loud sounds like explosions at the same volume as the rest of the audio.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 || Asus P6T Deluxe V2 || Noctua NH-U12P|| 12GB DDR3-1600
GTX 670 || Intel x-25m 80gb || 1TB Caviar Black || Antec 902 ||Antec 550w
HEAT
XBL: the4ner85

Last edited by vshah; 04-09-2012 at 11:17 AM.
vshah is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.