Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2012, 08:29 AM   #1
boozie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 462
Default Screen Resolution resetting

My parents old desktop Compaq PC is having issues with screen resolution. It's not even 100% of the time, but very common upon reboot or resuming from sleep that the resolution extremely wrong. It's not reverting to 600x800 but some crazy vertical stretch.

I tried reinstalling the video drivers, but that didn't do anything. One thing I find very odd is I can always fix it by going to the screen resolution and just telling the PC to detect the monitor.


Relevant specs:
Monitor is Compaq FS7600
OS: Win 7 Professional
GPU: ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Series
boozie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 05:26 PM   #2
Bubbaleone
Golden Member
 
Bubbaleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,651
Default

I'd suggest updating to ATI's legacy Vista driver which works well with Windows 7, and supports the ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Series.

Go to this page: AMD Catalyst™ Display Driver

Look at "Option 1 - Full Software Suite" and select "Catalyst Software Suite" which includes the "10-2_legacy_vista32-64_dd_ccc.exe" Catalyst Control Center and WDM driver.

Or look at "Option 2 - Individual Downloads" and select the "WDM Integrated Driver" which includes the "10-2_legacy_vista32-64_wdm.exe" WDM driver only.

Last edited by Bubbaleone; 04-08-2012 at 05:29 PM.
Bubbaleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.