Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default Any Video Converter(free)

I used this program years ago on XP and from what I recall it was a good program. I was thinking of using it again but this time on Windows 7 x64. What I can't recall is if this program installs codecs all over the place on a system or just to the program files folder where the program is contained. I was going to fire it up in a VM to test the new version but I don't have the time yet. I just don't want codecs all over the f'n place and conflicts....or malware. My system is pretty basic, I only use WMP 12, that should give you an idea.


Anybody who uses the program and has an opinion on it please chime in.

Thanks.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
akugami
Diamond Member
 
akugami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 費城, 賓夕法尼亞州
Posts: 4,188
Default

You planning to transcode video? If so, why not give Handbrake a shot?
__________________
Canon 50D
Canon 16-35mm L MK1
_______________________
That was insensitive of me. I asked you to stop being stupid without considering how extremely difficult that must be for you.
akugami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 03:56 PM   #3
Gooberlx2
Lifer
 
Gooberlx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 14,798
Default

Thankfully, most of the good recent freeware transcoders (handbrake, xmedia recode, avidemux, etc...) simply store their required libraries (ffdshow, etc...) in their own application directories, rather than fracking with system codecs and registries.
Gooberlx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 04:28 PM   #4
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooberlx2 View Post
Thankfully, most of the good recent freeware transcoders (handbrake, xmedia recode, avidemux, etc...) simply store their required libraries (ffdshow, etc...) in their own application directories, rather than fracking with system codecs and registries.

I think Any Video Converter stores it's libraries in it's own application directories, just not sure.

Anyway, I was looking at the below page for recommendations. I'm in no rush so I'll probably try a few in a VM when I have time.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...on-program.htm

Last edited by lowrider69; 09-09-2011 at 04:40 PM.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 10:53 PM   #5
jhansman
Platinum Member
 
jhansman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,214
Default

Don't know anything about it, but found it while Stumbling:

http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:52 AM   #6
IGemini
Platinum Member
 
IGemini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 2,095
Default

Freemake is actually a nice program, tried it a couple days ago. Has many more video options than Handbrake. It has absolutely miserable subtitle handling though...they are burned-in only and downscaling encoded video from 1080p to 720p somehow didn't apply to them and made them off-center.
__________________
Fafnir [main]: Intel i5-4670K | Corsair H100i | ASRock Z87M Extreme4 | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3L-1600 | HIS IceQ Radeon 7870 2GB | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Cooler Master N200 | Seasonic G 450W
Nightstar [HTPC]: Intel Q9650 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | 2x2GB Patriot DDR2-1066 |
PNY GT 220 1GB | Corsair Force F115 | NZXT Apollo | Antec Neo Eco 400C
[ Heat - WIP ]
IGemini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 11:18 AM   #7
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Well I installed Any Video Converter in a VM running XP Pro(my host is Windows 7 x64), I used the /NOCANDY switch to skip the Open Candy offers. Basically Open Candy will give you a choice if you want to install additional bullshit like so many freeware installers do now. But using that switch bypasses the offer screen completely. Anyway, Any Video Converter installs all of it's codecs into it's own codecs folder.... Program Files\AnvSoft\Any Video Converter\gnu\avc\codecs. I did a search by file creation date and nothing relating to that program was put anywhere except in it's own program folders.

I used to really like the program because it converted a wide range of formats and I liked the way it was laid out, it was easy to use. The new version is just as good IMO. It also has a youtube downloader built into it which is cool, although I don't really have a use for it. I tested it by downloading a few Van Halen videos and it works great. I'm going to test it some more before I install it onto my host.

Last edited by lowrider69; 09-10-2011 at 11:42 AM.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:48 PM   #8
ch33zw1z
Lifer
 
ch33zw1z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ten Forward
Posts: 13,164
Default

Handbrake has not let me down yet. +1
__________________
Heatware

ch33zw1z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 01:35 PM   #9
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IGemini View Post
Freemake is actually a nice program, tried it a couple days ago. Has many more video options than Handbrake. It has absolutely miserable subtitle handling though...they are burned-in only and downscaling encoded video from 1080p to 720p somehow didn't apply to them and made them off-center.

I just tried Freemake yesterday in a VM, I liked it a lot. I had some issues with Any Video Converter and horrible audio sync, and I tried everything to correct it, I uninstalled it and installed Freemake on my host. So far so good.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:01 PM   #10
Rottie
Diamond Member
 
Rottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,670
Default

Realplayer does have a better video converter…it is free.
__________________
Main Laptop:
15" rMacBook Pro Intel i7 Quad 2.3 8GB ram 256GB SDD Maverick 10.9
iPad Air
32GB Space Grey WIFI + Cellular
Rottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:44 AM   #11
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rottie View Post
Realplayer does have a better video converter…it is free.

My days of dealing with Real Player are long over.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:53 AM   #12
Ancalagon44
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,160
Default

I used a free program called Super, which worked fine. Lots of support for different codecs.
Ancalagon44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:42 PM   #13
Costas Athan
Senior Member
 
Costas Athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 314
Default

Format Factory.

Free simple and easy.
Costas Athan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:36 PM   #14
Oyeve
Lifer
 
Oyeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch33zw1z View Post
Handbrake has not let me down yet. +1
Ditto fer me.
__________________
My Heat
Oyeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 08:11 PM   #15
DarkTXKnight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 928
Default

does anyone have any good simple handbrake guides floating around? Ive wanted to get some of my relatives to use it on their machines.
DarkTXKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 09:33 PM   #16
IGemini
Platinum Member
 
IGemini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 2,095
Default

Handbrake's site has its own wiki on instructions, can't do much better than that.

I ended up switching back to it for blu-ray encoding, after I found out how to reformat the subtitle inputs myself.
__________________
Fafnir [main]: Intel i5-4670K | Corsair H100i | ASRock Z87M Extreme4 | 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3L-1600 | HIS IceQ Radeon 7870 2GB | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Cooler Master N200 | Seasonic G 450W
Nightstar [HTPC]: Intel Q9650 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | 2x2GB Patriot DDR2-1066 |
PNY GT 220 1GB | Corsair Force F115 | NZXT Apollo | Antec Neo Eco 400C
[ Heat - WIP ]
IGemini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 01:27 PM   #17
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
Format Factory.

Free simple and easy.

Error Factory. I tried that program, major POS. It couldn't convert anything, it would spit out an error for almost all formats. Did some searching and the author mentioned something on his site about installing K-Lite codec pack, F that. I don't touch codec packs. It's also annoying because the program installs it's own codecs so I don't know why I need to install additional codecs to utilize basic features. I found many other posts on various forums with people complaining about the same thing. Freemake is awesome, probably the best video converter in terms of ease of use and reliability I have used so far. Plus it has enough settings to make me happy. By the way I have tried Super!, Handbrake, etc...
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:03 PM   #18
Costas Athan
Senior Member
 
Costas Athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowrider69 View Post
Error Factory. I tried that program, major POS. It couldn't convert anything, it would spit out an error for almost all formats. Did some searching and the author mentioned something on his site about installing K-Lite codec pack, F that. I don't touch codec packs. It's also annoying because the program installs it's own codecs so I don't know why I need to install additional codecs to utilize basic features. I found many other posts on various forums with people complaining about the same thing. Freemake is awesome, probably the best video converter in terms of ease of use and reliability I have used so far. Plus it has enough settings to make me happy. By the way I have tried Super!, Handbrake, etc...
I never had a problem with it. I haven't installed any codec packs. I have installed ffdshow tryouts.
Costas Athan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:14 PM   #19
Cogman
Diamond Member
 
Cogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: A nomadic herd of wild fainting goats
Posts: 9,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
I never had a problem with it. I haven't installed any codec packs. I have installed ffdshow tryouts.
Interestingly enough, ffdshow tryout has died and ffdshow has been revived.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffds...-bit%20builds/
x64 builds

http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffds...eric%20builds/
x32 builds
__________________
CogBlog - Random Babblings of Cogman mainly focused on software.
Cogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:42 AM   #20
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
I never had a problem with it. I haven't installed any codec packs. I have installed ffdshow tryouts.
Which is a codec.

"ffdshow tryouts is a DirectShow and Video for Windows codec with support for a wide range of audio and video formats"

Try Format Factory without any additional codecs installed.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 11:01 AM   #21
Costas Athan
Senior Member
 
Costas Athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowrider69 View Post
Which is a codec.

"ffdshow tryouts is a DirectShow and Video for Windows codec with support for a wide range of audio and video formats"

Try Format Factory without any additional codecs installed.

You are wrong here. ffdshow isn't a codec pack. See an analytical explanation here ==> http://www.vistax64.com/660465-post6.html and of course you can google it for additional info.

VLC uses libavcodec to play several video and audio formats and SUPER is just the front-end for other third party back-end encoders which are installed along with it. Of course without any coding or decoding code there isn't a magical way to re-encode video/audio or just play it.
Costas Athan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 12:38 PM   #22
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
You are wrong here. ffdshow isn't a codec pack. See an analytical explanation here ==> http://www.vistax64.com/660465-post6.html and of course you can google it for additional info.

VLC uses libavcodec to play several video and audio formats and SUPER is just the front-end for other third party back-end encoders which are installed along with it. Of course without any coding or decoding code there isn't a magical way to re-encode video/audio or just play it.
Then sourceforge.net should change their explanation of it, because it clearly states:

"ffdshow is DirectShow and VFW codec for decoding/encoding many video and audio formats, including DivX and XviD movies using libavcodec, xvid and other opensourced libraries with a rich set of postprocessing filters."


http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffdshow/

I'm not an expert with codecs, decoders, etc...the way things are worded it seems like it's a single codec that can decode/encode various formats.

Try uninstalling ffdshow and then use Format Factory and see how well it goes.

Last edited by lowrider69; 09-28-2011 at 12:52 PM.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 12:41 PM   #23
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henry48 View Post
Any Video Converter is an easy to use video converter for free - just choose the source file and the output format and go. If you need, there are plenty of advanced options, as well as batch conversion, file merging, and cutting the frame.
Read the above posts.
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 01:00 PM   #24
Costas Athan
Senior Member
 
Costas Athan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowrider69 View Post
Then sourceforge.net should change their explanation of it, because it clearly states:

"ffdshow is DirectShow and VFW codec for decoding/encoding many video and audio formats, including DivX and XviD movies using libavcodec, xvid and other opensourced libraries with a rich set of postprocessing filters."


http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffdshow/

Try uninstalling ffdshow and then use Format Factory and see how well it goes.
The description is fine! It doesn't say that it is a codec pack it says it is a codec. Singular number. It is a DirectShow filter. See also VFW (which is also mentioned in the description) and read about Multimedia frameworks.

edit: In the bottom line install ffdshow it won't mess your system in anyway like a codec pack may do.


As for the Format Factory it is just a front-end like SUPER. Go and delete the back-end programs of SUPER (if there are not listed in Windows "Uninstall a program" - probably they are not - do it manually, locate them in the installation folder) and try to re-encode something. Of course nothing will happen! Without the appropriate compression/decompression code it is impossible to re-encode or play a video or audio file!

Last edited by Costas Athan; 09-28-2011 at 01:18 PM.
Costas Athan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 01:07 PM   #25
lowrider69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
The description is fine! It doesn't say that it is a codec pack it says it is a codec. Singular number. It is a DirectShow filter. See also VFW (which is also mentioned in the description) and read about Multimedia frameworks.

edit: In the bottom line install ffdshow it won't mesh your system in anyway like a codec pack may do.


As for the Format Factory it is just a front-end like SUPER. Go and delete the back-end programs of SUPER (if there are not listed in Windows "Uninstall a program" - probably they are not - do it manually, locate them in the installation folder) and try to re-encode something. Of course nothing will happen! Without the appropriate compression/decompression code it is impossible to re-encode or play a video or audio file!
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowrider69 View Post
Which is a codec.

"ffdshow tryouts is a DirectShow and Video for Windows codec with support for a wide range of audio and video formats"

Try Format Factory without any additional codecs installed.
Which is a codec. I quoted my response for you.


Anyway, it's not a codec pack which is what you said it was,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Costas Athan View Post
You are wrong here. ffdshow isn't a codec pack.
it's a single codec that can encode/decode various formats.

Format Factory is a front end that installs it's own codecs for encoding/decoding. My point is they suck. Again, uninstall ffdshow tryouts and try Format Factory using the default codecs it installs with the program.

Why did install ffdshow tryouts in the first place?

Last edited by lowrider69; 09-28-2011 at 01:20 PM. Reason: Clarification and fixed typos
lowrider69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.