Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2011, 08:40 PM   #1
rivan
Diamond Member
 
rivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,677
Default Gas Range -- clicking

My Viking 6-burner gas cooktop keeps clicking after the burner that's on has lit. I've googled around and while there are a number of possible culprits, the spark 'plugs' at each burner are ALL sparking, even though only one burner is supposed to be on.

Does that mean my spark module is bad, rather than it being a dirt problem? They're all clean, except at their bases, where there's some hard-to-reach gunk - all very far from where the spark came from.

It's unplugged (suggested on some forums) right now.
__________________
I am the thread-killer.

Someone still mows the grass at Pine Point's cemetery.
rivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:44 PM   #2
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 37,567
Default

Sounds like it's brain is screwed up. All my gas stuff is ancient. Do new ones use a computer?
lxskllr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:47 PM   #3
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,862
Default

they all spark every time you light it. much simpler that way rather than having a controller for each.

turn it down from the 'light' setting. high is actually a little down the dial from light.
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:47 PM   #4
Pardus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,822
Default

most likely the lighter module is defective. if you put a match over it, will it light that way?

also, you prob want to have it serviced, as gas may be coming out without your knowledge and all it takes it one spark to go boom.
Pardus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:51 PM   #5
KK
Lifer
 
KK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 15,608
Default

huh, so when you turn one knob to light, all 6 click(which is normal, atleast on mine) the one you turned on ignites, then you turn it back off the light position and the clicking still clicks?
__________________
"What you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul."
KK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:00 PM   #6
rivan
Diamond Member
 
rivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lxskllr View Post
Sounds like it's brain is screwed up. All my gas stuff is ancient. Do new ones use a computer?
There's a 'spark module' but the diagram on the bottom of the unit doesn't make me think it's a computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElFenix View Post
they all spark every time you light it. much simpler that way rather than having a controller for each.

turn it down from the 'light' setting. high is actually a little down the dial from light.
I was wondering if that wasn't normal and I just never noticed. It doesn't sound any louder than normal. Our switches have no "light" setting - but I can turn them all the way down 'simmer' and they still click.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ActiveX View Post
most likely the lighter module is defective. if you put a match over it, will it light that way?

also, you prob want to have it serviced, as gas may be coming out without your knowledge and all it takes it one spark to go boom.
Yes, they light. There's spark coming from them all.



Quote:
Originally Posted by KK View Post
huh, so when you turn one knob to light, all 6 click(which is normal, atleast on mine) the one you turned on ignites, then you turn it back off the light position and the clicking still clicks?
When I turn it (whichever one I'm testing) off, the clicking stops. But even after lighting, they all keep clicking.
__________________
I am the thread-killer.

Someone still mows the grass at Pine Point's cemetery.
rivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:07 PM   #7
CPA
Elite Member
 
CPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,752
Default

They should all click when you turn any know. My Jenn-Air does the same thing. However, they should stop clicking once you move it from 'Light'.
__________________
Temp Heroes - BoomerD, skyking, jacob0401, EagleKeeper, alchemyst, Sabot, Shinerburke, bob4432
CPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:14 PM   #8
Eli
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 50,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPA View Post
They should all click when you turn any know. My Jenn-Air does the same thing. However, they should stop clicking once you move it from 'Light'.
This
__________________
http://www.bumblebeebatteries.com

2001 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #163P - 158,388 miles and counting as of 7/2011
Best Trip - 82.0MPG over 1200 miles
2001 Honda Insight 5MT - 450,000 miles and counting as of 2/2012 (Fiancee's)
Best Trip - 92.4MPG over 400 miles
2000 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #173P, BCM Gauge, OBDIIC&C Gauge, Upgraded 8Ah battery - 227,248 miles and counting as of 10/2011
Best Trip - 83.1mpg over 458mi
Eli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:14 PM   #9
ElFenix
Super Moderator
Off Topic
 
ElFenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 93,862
Default

from this article it sounds like that's actually a safety feature and designed to continue sparking
http://www.ehow.com/how_7632348_do-e...ing-range.html

Quote:
As a safety feature, the igniters will spark whenever the knobs are turned to any position but "OFF"


edit:
apparently that feature should turn itself off when a flame is detected
http://www.fixya.com/support/t844482...ontinues_spark


edit: try the ground screw?
http://www.fixya.com/support/t143356...ignition_keeps
__________________
I killed and ate the Fun Mod with some jellybeans and a little Chianti.

AnandTech Mean Moderator

Last edited by ElFenix; 05-09-2011 at 09:18 PM.
ElFenix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:20 AM   #10
drnickriviera
Golden Member
 
drnickriviera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,903
Default

My Thermador only sparks the burner you are trying to light, so that may not be the normal operation of sparking all of them
drnickriviera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:34 AM   #11
Analog
Lifer
 
Analog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 12,755
Default

We have Wolf range that had the same issue after about 8 years of use. There is a thermocouple that picks up the fact that the burner is on and then shuts off the spark. This is all controlled by the spark module. I had to replace it - not too difficult. It was located in the back of the stove, so I had to pull it away from the wall to affect repair, which was the hardest part (its a heavy son of a bitch). Yes, and they all do spark.

As a side note, shop around for the part. I found a wide range of prices for the same thing.
__________________
'88 YELLOW FIERO

"WANTED - Schroedinger's cat. Dead and alive."
五行
http://eriemine.com
Analog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:49 AM   #12
Ghiedo27
Senior Member
 
Ghiedo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 403
Default

You can also clean the thermocouple with some compressed air and then some rubbing alcohol. I have a heater that seems to deposit some kind of residue on the thermocouple and it needs to be cleaned every so often.
Ghiedo27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 08:07 AM   #13
Texashiker
Lifer
 
Texashiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 16,316
Default

They sent you up a bomb.

All your house are belong to us.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qItugh-fFgg
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Playboy View Post
Sometimes Texashiker is almost reasonable, and at least capable of rational discussion, and other times he appears to have the intellect of a Tickle-Me-Elmo doll whose on/off switch was set to "Retard."
Texashiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 08:25 AM   #14
rivan
Diamond Member
 
rivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElFenix View Post
from this article it sounds like that's actually a safety feature and designed to continue sparking
http://www.ehow.com/how_7632348_do-e...ing-range.html


edit:
apparently that feature should turn itself off when a flame is detected
http://www.fixya.com/support/t844482...ontinues_spark


edit: try the ground screw?
http://www.fixya.com/support/t143356...ignition_keeps
I'll give these a shot - thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analog View Post
thermocouple that picks up the fact that the burner is on and then shuts off the spark. This is all controlled by the spark module. I had to replace it - not too difficult...
I've got what appears to be easy access to the spark module - it's just a cooktop rather than a stove.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghiedo27 View Post
You can also clean the thermocouple with some compressed air and then some rubbing alcohol. I have a heater that seems to deposit some kind of residue on the thermocouple and it needs to be cleaned every so often.
What will this look like? Are they at the burners or the module inside the unit?
__________________
I am the thread-killer.

Someone still mows the grass at Pine Point's cemetery.
rivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:42 AM   #15
rivan
Diamond Member
 
rivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,677
Default

Awesome.

So I get home last night, armed with a 3-pack of canned air, and fine my cooktop's no longer malfunctioning.

I didn't do anything, now it works.
__________________
I am the thread-killer.

Someone still mows the grass at Pine Point's cemetery.
rivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.