Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2010, 06:33 AM   #1
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Question WD3200AAKS - disappearing bad sectors?

Hello!

I have a problem with WD3200AAKS hard drive. I wanted to send it for warranty exchange so I did a Full Erase with Data Lifeguard diagnostic.

Before the full erase:
Current Pending Sector Count was at 8
and extended test results looked like this:
Code:
Test Option: EXTENDED TEST
Model Number: WDC WD3200AAKS-00B3A0
Unit Serial Number: WD-WCAT14113874
Firmware Number: 01.03A01
Capacity: 320.07 GB
SMART Status: PASS
Test Result: FAIL
Test Error Code: 08-Error was detected while repairing bad sectors.
Test Time: 20:40:48, September 04, 2010

After full erase:

Code:
1,Raw Read Error Rate,51,200,200,OK,0000000001B5,0,Enabled
3,Spin Up Time,21,155,154,OK,000000000C99,0,Enabled
4,Start/Stop Count,0,99,99,OK (Always passing),0000000004AE,0,Enabled
5,Reallocated Sectors Count,140,200,200,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
7,Seek Error Rate,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
9,Power On Time Count,0,92,92,OK (Always passing),000000001849,0,Enabled
10,Spin Retry Count,0,100,100,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
11,Drive Calibration Retry Count,0,100,100,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
12,Drive Power Cycle Count,0,99,99,OK (Always passing),000000000498,0,Enabled
192,Power off Retract Cycle Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000051,0,Enabled
193,Load/Unload Cycle Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),0000000004AE,0,Enabled
194,Disk Temperature,0,118,97,OK (Always passing),000000000019,0,Enabled
196,Reallocation Event Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
197,Current Pending Sector Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
198,Off-Line Uncorrectable Sector Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
199,Ultra ATA CRC Error Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000001,0,Enabled
200,Write Error Rate,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled

Code:
Test Option: EXTENDED TEST
Model Number: WDC WD3200AAKS-00B3A0
Unit Serial Number: WD-WCAT14113874
Firmware Number: 01.03A01
Capacity: 320.07 GB
SMART Status: PASS
Test Result: FAIL
Test Error Code: 08-Too many bad sectors detected.
Test Time: 17:15:29, September 20, 2010

I also tried to test with HDDScan and did not find any bad sectors.

Is the drive dying? Or is it OK and the smart info and DLD test results should not be trusted?
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 07:46 AM   #2
sub.mesa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 611
Default

I can see no reallocated sectors.

Try with HDTune; post a screenshot of the SMART values (Health tab). And you can also do a surface scan to detect bad sectors.

Perhaps the manufacturer utility yields some unpredictable results. If you have bad sectors, HDTune would find them.

Curious if that is the case, since your SMART information does not list any bad sectors; just a SATA cable error ("Ultra ATA CRC error count") but that's just one I/O command that failed according to your output.

So i would recommend further testing.
sub.mesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:26 AM   #3
Makaijin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default

Does the bad sectors still show up after the full erase? As logical bad sectors can be fixed with a full erase whereas physical ones cannot. You can try using the "format" command in cmd prompt with the /p switch to force it to zero out the drive multple times in an attempt to fix logical errors.

Last edited by Makaijin; 09-27-2010 at 08:29 AM.
Makaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 12:49 PM   #4
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

Surface scan in HD Tune started detecting bad sectors at ~25% of drive and froze... I wonder why HDDScan reported that every sector is readable?
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 01:32 PM   #5
sub.mesa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 611
Default

Check the SMART output again with HDTune; without doing the surface scan. Can you show us a screenshot of all the values? Make the window bigger if possible so all data is visible.
sub.mesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:21 AM   #6
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

I could not check SMART with HDTune because it does not want to read that info when HDD is connected via USB.

Anyway, I received an answer in a mirror post at wdc.com - which sounds reasonable: create RMA

also: "It is rare that DLG return a false postive for code 08"
http://community.wdc.com/t5/Desktop/...ors/td-p/57666

Thanks for help!
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:19 AM   #7
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,111
Default

Apparently, your WD diagnostic utility remapped the drive when it did the full erase. That remapping would then make all the bad sectors invisible to the OS, IOW, they are just not on the new sector map. This explains:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bad_sector

If you have a lot of bad sectors, RMA is a good solution.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

In my view you cannot claim to have seen something until you have photographed it.... Emile Zola
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:12 PM   #8
Russwinters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 409
Default

If you can view SMART you will likely see x number of reallocated sectors.

These sectors are now mapped to the G-LIST, and reserve sectors have taken their place.


This will affect performance on the tracks these sectors lie on, as the heads must seek to the reserve area to read 1 sector, then return to the track they where reading before, this will cause spikes in access times around the area where the bad sector was.


RMA if you can.
__________________
Resident Data Recovery Technician
Russwinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:14 PM   #9
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

like this one?
196,Reallocation Event Count,0,200,200,OK (Always passing),000000000000,0,Enabled
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:20 PM   #10
Russwinters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 409
Default

Yep.


What program gave that output? It presents things kind of badly.


My guess is that the drive has reallocated 196 sectors, there is almost definitely more, but the drive has not run into them yet.
__________________
Resident Data Recovery Technician
Russwinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:23 PM   #11
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

196 is just a SMART code for Reallocation Event Count

program is Data Lifeguard diagnostic AFAIR
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:25 PM   #12
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

interesting:

http://www.ntfs.com/disk-monitor-smart-attributes.htm

196 C4 Reallocation Event Count
Count of remap operations. The raw value of this attribute shows the total number of attempts to transfer data from reallocated sectors to a spare area. Both successful & unsuccessful attempts are counted.
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:28 PM   #13
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

so this one is more important:
5,Reallocated Sectors Count,140,200,200,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:49 PM   #14
Russwinters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 409
Default

There ya go =)

196 attempts to reallocate, only 5 successful.


the fact that there were 196 attempts is worrisome.
__________________
Resident Data Recovery Technician
Russwinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:52 PM   #15
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

no 196,197 and 5 are just codes/IDs, not values
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:04 PM   #16
Russwinters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 409
Default

Incorrect, SMART values on modern drives are stored different depending on the field.


In the case of these fields there is a Value, Worst, and Threshold (your three other numbers listed) and then there is a "RAW" value of that field.

The RAW value is recorded normally in WD drives, hence you have 196 (or 197 now) attempted reallocation events, and 5 success reallocated sectors.


As mentioned, the software doesn't really lay out the values well. WD engineers never really did know how to write code very well apparently =( thats why all the firmware issues.
__________________
Resident Data Recovery Technician
Russwinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:07 PM   #17
Russwinters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 409
Default

Nevermind, I woke up and read the software output.


Sigh I don't like WD software.


Those are the SMART field IDs; this drive has no reallocated event OR reallocated sectors.


run this:


www.hddscan.com


make sure you use the sector access time view.

see how the surface of the disk looks.
__________________
Resident Data Recovery Technician
Russwinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:09 PM   #18
tcsenter
Lifer
 
tcsenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 17,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by czesiu View Post
so this one is more important:
5,Reallocated Sectors Count,140,200,200,OK,000000000000,0,Enabled
No, this one is:

Test Result: FAIL
Test Error Code: 08-Too many bad sectors detected.


SMART is highly implementation dependent and the typical implementation is none too rigorous as to be all that terribly trustworthy.
tcsenter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:10 PM   #19
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

some sectors had delays but I was using the PC during the test
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:12 PM   #20
czesiu
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcsenter View Post
No, this one is:

Test Result: FAIL
Test Error Code: 08-Too many bad sectors detected.


SMART is highly implementation dependent and the typical implementation is none too rigorous as to be all that terribly trustworthy.
oh yes I noticed

As I said earlier I will RMA the drive based on that error 08
czesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.