Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2010, 02:13 PM   #1
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,725
Default How much bandwidth does online gaming use?

Specifcally league of legends, ive been stuck with no net for 3 weeks but now ive got a mobile 3g USB thing with 3gb of net use on it till my ISP gets its act together. Can i game with this thing? Im fine with sticking with league of legends for now and forfeiting SCII or MW2 etc as with LoL theres only 10 people running around the map so it should use less bandwidth right?

Thought i would ask before i go and download the big patch thats available for it now, i dont wanna tear into this 3gb too much as i dont know how long my ISP is gonna take.
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 02:43 PM   #2
nsafreak
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 6,450
Default

Online gaming itself doesn't use all that much in terms of bandwidth you could use it for SC 2, MW2 and LoL for a couple of weeks and not go over your limit provided you don't download any large files.
__________________
Desktop: i5 4670K, Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3, 16GB Kingston HyperX Blu Genesis, Gigabyte HD 7950 (Windforce), Samsung EVO 250GB SSD, Crucial M4 120GB SSD, Seagate 2TB HDD, Corsair CX600M, InWin GT1

Server: i5 2500K, Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, 8GB Crucial DDR3-1600, OCZ Agility 3 128GB SSD, 3x Seagate 1.5TB HDD (RAID 5 array), Seagate 1TB HDD, Corsair CX600, Antec 300
nsafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 03:36 PM   #3
Lonyo
Lifer
 
Lonyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21,638
Default

The serious issue is going to be lots of latency, which may have a serious impact on any gaming, even if it's not as sensitive as things like FPS games.
__________________
CPU: Q3570K @ 4.1GHz 1.23v // Mobo: Asus P8Z77-V // GFX: Sapphire Tri-X 290 @ 1000/5200 // RAM: Corsair DDR3 @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 // SSD: Samsung 830 128GB
Video cards: TNT2, Ti4400, 9800, 7800GT(+7200GS), HD4850(+HD2400), HD6850, HD7950 (Laptops: GF6150, HD3200, GMA500)
Lonyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 04:52 PM   #4
CurseTheSky
Diamond Member
 
CurseTheSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonyo View Post
The serious issue is going to be lots of latency, which may have a serious impact on any gaming, even if it's not as sensitive as things like FPS games.
Depending on the service, those USB 3G modems aren't bad. My fiancée's family has satellite through Direct TV for their main connection and the overall speed and latency is HORRIBLE. Seriously, just a few steps above dial-up at best. She bought a 5GB / month WLAN card from Verizon a couple of years ago, and it's perfectly suitable for playing Titan Quest together, at the very least. It feels fairly snappy overall, probably equivalent to a 1-1.5 Mbps cable connection.
__________________
We're all going to die someday, regardless of race, gender, beliefs, or any other differences.

The where, when, and how are things that we can try to control, but in the end, it's the mark that we leave on this world that we truly have power over.
CurseTheSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 05:00 PM   #5
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,725
Default

Well i just played a 35 min game of LoL which i lost lol... yeah went pretty well on this 3g thing, my latency is around 120-200 which is crap compared to everyone else in the game but tbh it didnt affect my gameplay much. I remember back in RA2 300 ping used to be pretty good and we would only kick people over 450 ping heh.
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 05:09 PM   #6
CurseTheSky
Diamond Member
 
CurseTheSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
Well i just played a 35 min game of LoL which i lost lol... yeah went pretty well on this 3g thing, my latency is around 120-200 which is crap compared to everyone else in the game but tbh it didnt affect my gameplay much. I remember back in RA2 300 ping used to be pretty good and we would only kick people over 450 ping heh.
It depends on the type of game. On some CS: S servers, you get kicked for breaking 100 ms ping. I can personally play decently with up to 250 ms or so.

RTS and other strategy games, on the other hand, do quite well with higher ping. I still wouldn't want to be at 500+ ms, but 250-400 shouldn't be too much of a problem, since there are interface delays anyway and delays related to unit pathing. Christ, after playing Warcraft III online for so long, I couldn't play single player anymore due to the fact that I was used to that half-second delay between clicking a unit and telling them to move and them actually starting to go in that direction.

DotA (and subsequently LoL, HoN, etc. most likely) sucked with a lot of lag, but it was more due to the elitist attitude of most players than the actual game itself. "ZOMG WTF YOU MISSED THAT STUN AND HE GOT AWAY YOU SUCK YOU NOOB I'M PUTTING YOU ON THE BANLIST!!1!!11!111" etc.
__________________
We're all going to die someday, regardless of race, gender, beliefs, or any other differences.

The where, when, and how are things that we can try to control, but in the end, it's the mark that we leave on this world that we truly have power over.
CurseTheSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 05:15 AM   #7
GoodRevrnd
Diamond Member
 
GoodRevrnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,401
Default

Download TCPView from Microsoft and track how much bandwidth LoL uses during your next session.
__________________
Reverend B-Greezy
GoodRevrnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:57 AM   #8
zebano
Diamond Member
 
zebano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,043
Default

As stated latency is a much bigger deal than bandwidth. I've played LoL on my DSL and on my parents cable and it's much snappier on the cable (~45ms as opposed to 125ms ping).
__________________
Shift happens, caps lock is on purpose.
zebano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 02:46 PM   #9
McLovin
Golden Member
 
McLovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebano
As stated latency is a much bigger deal than bandwidth. I've played LoL on my DSL and on my parents cable and it's much snappier on the cable (~45ms as opposed to 125ms ping).
That's because all DSL connections have some inherent latency built into the ISP network. Some companies, like QWEST, I've bene told add anywhere from 15-30ms of latency before it even hits the node at the main office.

I have frontier communciations where I live currently and I'd say that estimate above is pretty close for them.

This, and having to use their equipment, for the most part, is why DSL sucks soooo much asshole for anything. Hell frontier told me they don't offer port forwarding "support" because it's not a feature their customers need! LOL
__________________
HEAT

Corsair 650D (3 Noctua NF-P12's and stock 200MM), Corsair HX850W, Corsair H100i, Xeon X5639, EVGA x58 FTW3, Corsair 12 GB (6 x 2 GB CML4GX3M2A1600C9B), EVGA GTX 780 FTW , Intel 520 240GB SSD (Boot Drive), 2 xWD 2 TB Reds, Auzentech Forte, Sennheiser PC350, 2 x Acer AL2216W's
McLovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 03:32 PM   #10
micaturbo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyAZ1983 View Post
That's because all DSL connections have some inherent latency built into the ISP network. Some companies, like QWEST, I've bene told add anywhere from 15-30ms of latency before it even hits the node at the main office.

I have frontier communciations where I live currently and I'd say that estimate above is pretty close for them.

This, and having to use their equipment, for the most part, is why DSL sucks soooo much asshole for anything. Hell frontier told me they don't offer port forwarding "support" because it's not a feature their customers need! LOL
Perhaps if your line sucks and it's set to interleaved.
micaturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 04:10 PM   #11
Nirreln
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Wow, I've been out of online gaming for a little while but anything over 100ms is now crap for ping?! Back in the late 90's and early 2000's that would have been considered fast.
Nirreln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 04:29 PM   #12
micaturbo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 247
Default

Damn those LPBs
micaturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 04:29 PM   #13
Homerboy
Lifer
 
Homerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: MKE, WI
Posts: 19,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micaturbo View Post
Perhaps if your line sucks and it's set to interleaved.
I was going to say someting similar.
I went from cable to DSL and there is no difference at all. Unless you got really shitty copper in your house, but even with interleaving you shouldn't notice a thing.
__________________
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - Refused
Homerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 11:12 AM   #14
zebano
Diamond Member
 
zebano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyAZ1983 View Post
That's because all DSL connections have some inherent latency built into the ISP network. Some companies, like QWEST, I've bene told add anywhere from 15-30ms of latency before it even hits the node at the main office.

I have frontier communciations where I live currently and I'd say that estimate above is pretty close for them.

This, and having to use their equipment, for the most part, is why DSL sucks soooo much asshole for anything. Hell frontier told me they don't offer port forwarding "support" because it's not a feature their customers need! LOL
Funny you mention Qwest since they're my provider.
__________________
Shift happens, caps lock is on purpose.
zebano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:14 PM   #15
Lonbjerg
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyAZ1983 View Post
That's because all DSL connections have some inherent latency built into the ISP network. Some companies, like QWEST, I've bene told add anywhere from 3-30ms of latency before it even hits the node at the main office.

I have frontier communciations where I live currently and I'd say that estimate above is pretty close for them.

This, and having to use their equipment, for the most part, is why DSL sucks soooo much asshole for anything. Hell frontier told me they don't offer port forwarding "support" because it's not a feature their customers need! LOL
FYP.

/topic:
Bandwith is largely irrelevant for gaming a 128/128Kbit/s line would be fine.
Lag is the killer.
This thread has some posts from me about networking and lag:
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...t=shdsl&page=2

Post #38 and onwards.
Lonbjerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:05 PM   #16
lord_emperor
Golden Member
 
lord_emperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,323
Default

I actually benchmarked this a few years back.

World of Warcraft, Warcraft 3, Battlefield 1942, Command & Conquer Generals all used around 5Kbps.

The latency inherent in your ISP's cable or DSL network is a significant part of overall latency, also if you have any packet loss it will make your multiplayer experience terrible.

The best connection I ever had was a 1.5Mbps dedicated business wireless, I'd take it any day over my 15Mbps cable internet, aside from the $700/mo price that is.
__________________
Intel Pentium II 400 @ 448MHz | 128MB PC133 @ 112MHz | WD Caviar 814MB 3600RPM
Diamond 16MB video card, can't find drivers | Seriously dented white case
Unlabeled PSU with "115W" written on it in felt marker
14" Dell CRT,
640x480 @ 45Hz | Windows 98 SE
lord_emperor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:46 PM   #17
HybridSquirrel
Diamond Member
 
HybridSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kaaawa, HI
Posts: 5,955
Default

league of legends shouldnt take up much. i've played it with little lag on one of those mobile broadband usb modems from verizon. though the way lag is percieved is different depending on the game. I ping 200+ to eve but feels fine. 150+ on wow is fine. anything higher than 80 on CSS is ridiculous. over 50 on bc2 is ridiculous. Depends on the game really.
__________________
Heat
HybridSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 06:46 PM   #18
velillen
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 2,016
Default

World Of Warcraft was usually sub1-2kbps which if you played 20 hours a week which is ~600mb a month. Should give you at least somewhat of an idea.
__________________
My Heat
PSN- Velilen
velillen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:34 PM   #19
bhanson
Golden Member
 
bhanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,749
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nirreln View Post
Wow, I've been out of online gaming for a little while but anything over 100ms is now crap for ping?! Back in the late 90's and early 2000's that would have been considered fast.
I actually recall 80-120ms being "crap" back when I played UT99.

East vs west coast was a nightmare because their home servers were obviously on the coasts and 30ms vs 100ms was not fair at all.

Central was okay but then the argument was always Chicago vs Texas. East coast pinged better to Chicago and west didn't like that, but when playing on central east would always complain about some mysterious server lag.

Oh, the memories.
__________________
♥ Are YOU an organ donor? ♥ DonateLife.net
"...more people die each day of heart disease in the United States than died in the attacks of September 11..." -Berger, K. S.

Hands-Only CPR How to save a life.
  1. Call 911
  2. Push hard and fast in the center of the chest
bhanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 12:24 AM   #20
TheRyuu
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhanson View Post
I actually recall 80-120ms being "crap" back when I played UT99.

East vs west coast was a nightmare because their home servers were obviously on the coasts and 30ms vs 100ms was not fair at all.

Central was okay but then the argument was always Chicago vs Texas. East coast pinged better to Chicago and west didn't like that, but when playing on central east would always complain about some mysterious server lag.

Oh, the memories.
That's because Texas servers magically suck and always produce mysterious lag.
Games take up very little bandwidth as others have said. I believe CS:S takes up about ~10-15 KB/s down and ~5-10 KB/s up and that's for 100 tick.
TheRyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 11:07 PM   #21
sushanth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Thumbs up MAX 40mbs including upload and download per hour

hey guys i never cared about bandwidth as i have unlimited plan and i tested just to reply this thread and i tried with crysis 3 multiplayer and it took only 35 mb for an hour...

Last edited by sushanth; 12-04-2013 at 11:10 PM.
sushanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:35 AM   #22
FalseChristian
Diamond Member
 
FalseChristian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oshawa, ON, CA
Posts: 3,305
Default

I'm limited to 120GB of downloads a months on my Rogers Cable Internet (65Mbs) per month. Is this a problem when playing multiplayer games? My ping is only 8ms. Is this also a problem?
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz (45x100) 1.350v-Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3 (BIOS 3402)-16GB Kingston VR DDR3-1333Mhz @ 1600MHz 1.65v-2 EVGA GTX 760 2GB (1212/7600) ACX-750w Cooler Master GXII-RealTek on-board sound-Intel Onboard 1Gb Ethernet-Rogers Cable Internet 6.6MB/second-2TB Seagate 7200 SATA 6 HD-3TB SeaGate USB 3.0 EHD-22" Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW 1680x1050 67Htz-Windows 7 HP 64-bit SP1
FalseChristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:13 AM   #23
Stuka87
Platinum Member
 
Stuka87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 2,092
Default

Some games use a lot of bandwidth. Diablo 3 on upper MP Inferno difficulties likes to use quite a bit. BF4 with 64 players uses a fair amount as well.

So keep an eye on your usage.
__________________
Gaming: Antec 300 Illusion | Phenom II 965BE @4114MHz | Xigmatek Gaia | MSI 790GX-G65 | 12GB Crucial DDR3 1333 | Sapphire HD7950 OC 1100/1400 | Antec NEO ECO 520C | ViewSonic VP2365wb
Work: Dell Precision M4600 | i7-2620 | 8GB | 2GB Quadro 1000 w/Optimus | Dual Dell 2412M's
Stuka87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:05 AM   #24
CPA
Elite Member
 
CPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homerboy View Post
I was going to say someting similar.
I went from cable to DSL and there is no difference at all. Unless you got really shitty copper in your house, but even with interleaving you shouldn't notice a thing.
We have copper, but don't experience latency except for an occassional spike. Normally, we are looking at 75ms or less on LOL, TF2, even BF4. I was told yesterday by a tech with the phone company (he was installing some new equipment at my house so we could get 20MB) that we were pretty close to the relay, though. /shrug
__________________
Temp Heroes - BoomerD, skyking, jacob0401, EagleKeeper, alchemyst, Sabot, Shinerburke, bob4432
CPA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #25
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,725
Default

Thank fook I got out of that crappy flat and now have unlimited 30mb cable
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.