Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2010, 01:25 AM   #1
Synomenon
Diamond Member
 
Synomenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,619
Default Booting from USB 3.0 card?

I have a Zotac H55ITX-A-E motherboard. It has a mini-PCIe slot which conforms to the PCI-SIG's PCIe Base Specification 2.1. I purchased a mini-PCIe USB 3.0 card:
http://www.commell.com.tw/Product/Pe...d/MPX-7202.HTM

and am using it on this motherboard. My case is a LianLi PC-Q08 which has two front USB 3.0 ports. When in Windows, the ports work as they should. However, when I go to the boot selection screen after POST, none of my bootable USB flash drives appear when connected to either of the USB 3.0 ports.

They do appear when connected to any of the USB 2.0 ports on the motherboard though.

Does USB 3.0 not support booting from USB flash drives? I have checked my BIOS and have set it to be able to boot from USB flash drives.

Also, when any USB flash drive is connected to any of the USB 2.0 ports on the motherboard, they're listed as hard drives in the BIOS, but when connected to either of the USB 3.0 ports, they're not listed at all.

Anyone know why this is happening?


Also, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 didn't have USB 3.0 drivers built in. Anyone know where I can download the latest USB 3.0 drivers? The card I have uses a NEC D720200F1 USB 3.0 chip.
__________________
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35947
Synomenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,959
Default

It sounds like the USB3 add-in card doesn't have a BIOS, or if it does, it doesn't support the BBS specification, like my Promise UltraATA controller card does.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 12:53 PM   #3
Synomenon
Diamond Member
 
Synomenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,619
Default

Do most USB PCI / PCI-express cards have their own BIOS?I have other desktop PCs. One has a PCIe 1x USB 2.0 card and the other has a PCI USB 2.0 card.I can boot from a USB flash drive connected to either of those cards.
__________________
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35947
Synomenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:16 PM   #4
vailr
Diamond Member
 
vailr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 4,397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IsLNdbOi View Post
Anyone know where I can download the latest USB 3.0 drivers? The card I have uses a NEC D720200F1 USB 3.0 chip.
NEC USB3 Controller driver -
Version 1.0.20.0
http://www.station-drivers.com/page/nec.htm

They also list some NEC USB3 firmware updates, which may be useful.
__________________



vailr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 12:33 AM   #5
Synomenon
Diamond Member
 
Synomenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,619
Default

Tried the firmware updater and I keep getting a "detect serial ROM error!".
__________________
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35947
Synomenon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.