Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2010, 01:56 PM   #26
Cogman
Diamond Member
 
Cogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: A nomadic herd of wild fainting goats
Posts: 9,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Xanth View Post
On the contrary, if you remove the ground from the treadmill, the plane is flying already!
Winnar!

And to the OP, don't do it. There is a good reason for the ground prong.
Cogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:57 PM   #27
Eli
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 50,005
Default

I do it all the time, but it's not recommended. And as someone said, there are adapters.
__________________
http://www.bumblebeebatteries.com

2001 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #163P - 158,388 miles and counting as of 7/2011
Best Trip - 82.0MPG over 1200 miles
2001 Honda Insight 5MT - 450,000 miles and counting as of 2/2012 (Fiancee's)
Best Trip - 92.4MPG over 400 miles
2000 Honda Insight 5MT, MIMA #173P, BCM Gauge, OBDIIC&C Gauge, Upgraded 8Ah battery - 227,248 miles and counting as of 10/2011
Best Trip - 83.1mpg over 458mi
Eli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:01 PM   #28
So
Lifer
 
So's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 25,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analog View Post
Ground and Neutral ARE bonded together at the electrical panel to meet code. There should also be a ground rod outside that the ground is bonded to.

Perhaps you were thinking he meant bonded together somewhere else? That would be wrong.
I thought he meant in the device.
__________________
A is A | Official member of the ATOT Night Crew | ****

Free Waterfall Jr.: You can't own property, man!
Farnsworth: I can, but that's because I'm not a penniless hippie!
So is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:36 PM   #29
AyashiKaibutsu
Diamond Member
 
AyashiKaibutsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorcorps View Post
I want him to do it and see what his 'on my way to the hospital' thread turns out like
Assuming the fuses are functional in his house it shouldn't be that bad.
__________________
The large print giveths and the small print taketh away.
AyashiKaibutsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:38 PM   #30
BlahBlahYouToo
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorcorps View Post
I want him to do it and see what his 'on my way to the hospital' thread turns out like
uhhh, why would he be on the way to a hospital.
__________________
3429
BlahBlahYouToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:41 PM   #31
Skitzer
Diamond Member
 
Skitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waffleironhead View Post
This!
Skitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:53 PM   #32
BurnItDwn
Lifer
 
BurnItDwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 19,166
Default

I would do some rewiring. Or, in your case, I would call an electrician.
BurnItDwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 03:10 PM   #33
edro
Lifer
 
edro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Columbus of Ohio
Posts: 22,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnItDwn View Post
I would do some rewiring. Or, in your case, I would call an electrician.
Why when you can ask ATOT for free?

The very first response eliminated all danger.
__________________
I know I was born and I know that I'll die.
The in between is mine. I am mine.
edro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 03:14 PM   #34
Matthiasa
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edro View Post
Why when you can ask ATOT for free?

The very first response eliminated all danger.
Except there is risk to it.
Matthiasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:50 PM   #35
Jeff7
Lifer
 
Jeff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 39,227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by So View Post
I had an arcade machine that was wired wrong and had the ground plug wired to the neutral line. Good grounding can be a lifesaver. If you absolutely have to plug a device with a ground prong into an ungrounded outlet, get one of the adapters mentioned above and screw the lug at the bottom into the faceplate of your outlet, it should give you some protection. Also, they are like $0.50 at home depot or walmart.
This of course assumes that said lug is grounded, otherwise it won't do anything.

All of the outlets at my apartment were 2-prong, and they were wired with 2-conductor wire - hot and neutral only. It's an old building.
My landlord was kind enough to pay for an electrician to wire in some grounded circuits in each room.
__________________
.
"Homeopathy is what happened when snake oil salesmen discovered that water is cheaper than snake oil."
Jeff7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:15 PM   #36
Rubycon
Madame President
 
Rubycon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAWYER View Post
I have something I want to hook up in a room but I have no outlets with three hole sin that room, I know that is there for a reason though, grounding I believe. What is my risk if I break that off?
The risk depends on your wiring, the device and where it's being used. (water around?)

If the circuit breaker is a GFCI type then breaking off the ground - while discouraged - will not present a high risk of health threatening shock. If no GFCI is present (most outlets outside of bath, pool, outside, etc. areas do NOT have them) then yes if your device has a fault where the hot wire energizes the chassis and you touch it you can receive a shock. If you touch it with one hand while touching something else that's grounded it could cost you your life!

As far as ground and neutral being the same - yes they are bonded at the panel. HOWEVER the ground is NOT designed to carry current! That's the job of the neutral. The ground wire will ONLY carry current in the event of a fault from hot to chassis. This current opens the circuit breaker or fuse, disconnecting the circuit and protecting YOU from touching a hot chassis. Believe me you do NOT want to touch a hot chassis - ever! (well unless we're talking about other chassis' - but I'll leave sex out of this! )

Those adapters with the lugs are commonly found in use with the lugs not connected to anything. A simple neon bulb tester can verify if the wallplate screw is grounded by inserting the probe in the hot (right slot with ground prong facing down, left side with ground prong facing up - assuming correct wiring!) slot and the other probe on the screw. If the bulb glows brightly the screw is grounded. Remove the screw while holding the wallplate up (sometimes paint will keep them in place), plug in the adapter, put the screw through the lug and tighten. This way your three wire device is now connected to your mains properly.

NEVER snap the ground prong off a plug on a power tool! That's just asking to get "the new look".
Rubycon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:49 PM   #37
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,198
Default

I agree, the Neutral and Ground are bonded in the main breaker panel. And a seperate ground wire then runs to the grounding electrode in the ground. But back to the original question. Do not cut off the prong. It is there for your Safety. Have the outlet changed to a properly installed 3 prong grounding receptacle. Easy to do if it is a metal box and wired with BX (armored cable) as that provides the ground. A little more work if Romex as there should be a Bare Wire connected to the Box Shell and also to the Green Screw on the outlet itself. Be sure you put the White Wire on the Silver Screw and Black on the Brass Screw on the outlet.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:02 PM   #38
DrPizza
Administrator
Elite Member
Goat Whisperer
 
DrPizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Western NY
Posts: 44,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon-Xanth View Post
Most of the time it's for safety, other times it can produce "interesting" results.

Example:
When I moved into my house I didn't have any grounds, even though I had a lot of 3 prong outlets. When I hooked up my LCD TV my cable was flaky. And there was another side effect, I got zapped every time I touched the outside connector. You know, the one that is supposed to be ground. Inside the TV's power supply there are some caps that go between the line, neutral, and ground. This is a common and fair design. When it's not grounded, it puts the ground at approximately 60VAC (I measured 70...) due to leakage currents and the like. Thus, my LCD TV caused the shield on the coax, which happens to be ground, to be the ground. And this ground isn't a good ground like I needed it to be. So the net result... I got shocked every time I messed with the coax until I just used a pair of rabbit ears with that TV.
Ummm, all of the time, it's for safety. If you get interesting results, it's because something electrical is screwed up.
__________________
Fainting Goats
DrPizza is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.