Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2006, 06:14 PM   #1
nova2
Senior Member
 
nova2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 982
Default safe to use power cord with missing ground prong?

i guess this sums the issue up:

http://www.google.com/search?&q=%22m...und%20prong%22
"You may notice that the electric appliance such as power tools work fine with broken ground prong. That?s why a lot of people just ignore it and keep using those tools with the plug that missing ground prong. But fact is the ground prong is just like insurance. When a wire comes loose inside of the ungrounded tool, and the loose wire touches the metal parts. If the loose wire is hot, the metal part is hot, too. Anyone who touches, it will get a potentially fatal shock. With grounded, the electricity from the hot wire flows straight to ground, and this trips the fuse and prevent electric shock. "

my CRT monitors power cord is now 2 pronged instead of 3 pronged.

I'll get a replacement cable later (the monitor isn't used much), but, is there any significant reason to stop using the current cord? (afterall, i've been using a extension strip with missing ground prong for months). I haven't tried plugging it back in since this happened.

for the curious: yes the ground prong was left in the power socket for under a day until i noticed the problem
nova2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 06:30 PM   #2
GalvanizedYankee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,986
Default safe to use power cord with missing ground prong?

Found at jonnyguru.com http://hardwaresecrets.com/article/18


...Galvanized
GalvanizedYankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 06:49 PM   #3
dfuze
Lifer
 
dfuze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11,934
Default safe to use power cord with missing ground prong?

It is grounded for a reason. I'm not an electrician but I think that would make a big shock hazard without the prong. Also, I think you'd be nuts to take a chance of ruining an expensive (anything over $50 is expensive to me! ) monitor for the sake of a $5 cord. I would suggest waiting until you get a new cord.
__________________
Desktop: ASrock Extreme3 Gen3 || 2500K || Samsung 840 SSD || 500gb WD || 8gb DDR3 1333 GSkill || XFX 6850

HeatWare
dfuze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:26 PM   #4
nova2
Senior Member
 
nova2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 982
Default safe to use power cord with missing ground prong?

thanks for that, yankee.
nova2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.